Summer, Day 5: Awkward Feet

Hidden somewhere on the whiteboard in my classroom, there’s a magnet that says “Do one thing every day that scares you. – Eleanor Roosevelt”

I’ve done a lot of that this year, or at least I like to think that. But I can always do more of that, and this past week I put it into practice with Zumba (and a Yoga class, but that’s another story). The photo above doesn’t so much capture the spirit of Zumba as it does the way things looked as class broke up this morning, but that’s okay. I found a local place through LivingSocial and have made it to 3 classes this week – hoping for another one tomorrow and/or Saturday. I’d done Zumba on the Kinect before, but the class is way more fun. And empowering, in its own way, even if I do spend half the time tripping over my awkward feet.

These hips don’t lie, either, but they certainly don’t yet move as smoothly as my instructor’s do. Still, awkward feet and hips aside, I adore the concept of spending an hour dancing as a way to get my workout in.

This summer, I promise to really work on that whole “do one thing every day that scares you” idea. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

