Off to Massachusetts

A few years ago, the musical production of Little Women included a fun little song called “Off to Massachusetts,” and I have no problem confessing that this is what I’m listening to at the moment as I prep for the AHA Annual Meeting in Boston this week. It’s lighthearted and fun, and that’s precisely how I expect my time in Boston to be.

I guess “lighthearted” and “fun” aren’t always the words most associated with the AHA Annual Meeting. After all, it’s the place where people expect to see harried job candidates stressing over interviews and their future, and stressed-out search committees who spend most of their time holed up conducting interviews. There are always exceptions to this rule, though, and of course I’ll be one of them.

I’m excited about AHA for a number of reasons, but mostly because it’s an excuse to visit Boston and because I‘ll be presenting from part of my dissertation this Saturday (Saturday, 11:30 am, Room 102 of Hynes Convention Center). Then there’s the fact that the conference venue appears to be in a really great location (close to good restaurants, or at least lots of clam chowder!) and the presence of some great people I know but don’t often get to see.

In my book, starting off 2011 with a trip to Boston is a sign that things are going to be good this year. I love to travel and see things. Although I’ve been to Boston twice since spring 2009 (not counting this trip), this trip will give me the chance to check out some new areas and things to see. I’m still working out details, but I’m planning a list of “Boston 5” – five activities that I’ll do for fun while I’m there. Ideas include:

1. The Mapparium at the Mary Baker Eddy Library
2. A tour at the Boston Public Library (and possibly high tea…)
3.  The Museum of Fine Arts
4. Skywalk Observatory
5. Cupcakes!

I’d add “eating clam chowder” to that list, but that’s frankly a given in Boston in January.

If you’ll be at AHA, please feel free to say hi if you see me breeze by. I’ll be the one having far too much fun.

Leave a Reply

