The First Day of the Rest of My Fall

After spending so long staring down my dissertation chapters, things feel a little strange to me now. No, the dissertation process is not at all over, but I am on hiatus from the whole project while Adviser reads it over the next month or so (approximately). Of course, as any graduate student knows, there are still many things I can work on in the meantime. It’s just a matter of switching gears.

This week, I’m still writing. I have conference presentations in November and January, so I’ve decided now’s the perfect time to get those presentations ready. I also have a number of job applications to prep and send, books to read, and a few other projects – such as a local exhibit I’m supporting and some minor background research on some people in one of my dissertation chapters.  The key now – as ever, yes? – is balance. I’ve spent the past two months in a slightly obsessive state regarding the dissertation and now it’s time to back away from it slowly for awhile.

I’m not quite sure how to do that yet, but I’m sure I’ll get there. After all, it was just two months ago that I was saying I wasn’t sure how to do the whole dissertation revising thing – and look how well that turned out?

Leave a Reply

