HBO’s The Pacific, Episode 10

In case you couldn’t tell, I got a little tired of blogging about The Pacific. Maybe blogging the series wasn’t a good idea – or maybe if I really wanted to do that, I should have dedicated more time to recaps (but frankly, that’s not so much my thing).

But at any rate, the thing that’s guaranteed my blogging presence for ten weeks is now over. This means I’ll soon have other things to talk about – hopefully more interesting things, like the fact that I’ll spend the month of June at this little event. More on that later, though.

Episode 10 brought us back home – at least, for some of the guys. I was thrilled that Lena made a reappearance, even if it was brief, and even if I was dissatisfied about what they told us in the credits about what happened to her after that (maybe they didn’t know, maybe they didn’t really care about finding out).

Sledge makes it home to start dealing with his PTSD. No resolution there, but I think by that point we expected it – and honestly, a pat, happy ending would have felt inappropriate and wrong.

Leckie gets home, returns to his job, and gets the girl. Boy, I was really liking him by the end of this.

And of course, we get a montage at the end that explains what happened to everybody, reminded us of the characters we never could keep straight, and finally – FINALLY – found out who the veterans were from the front end of every episode.

I still say they did that part wrong. Don’t leave that information until the end: tell me who these veterans are, and you give me something to care about. Keep them nameless, and I just get wrapped up in their strange anonymity (on another note, shame on you guys for not explaining who the women were at the front end of the final episode – it only reinforces how little women matter to the big picture in this series).

Just like that, it’s over with. All in all, I’m still disappointed. I think the series was too disjointed to really work effectively, and I think the constant flux of new characters – and swapping in and out of people’s stories – made it difficult to keep things interesting.

Now I guess I’ll have to go watch Band of Brothers to see if it’s any better. And if not, I suppose there’s always Saving Private Ryan. Or maybe one of these days I’ll write a screenplay for a much better miniseries/movie focusing on the servicewomen.

You know that’s what I really want.

Leave a Reply

