(Re)Introduction

So, I’m back. Late last year, I decided that it was time to take a break from blogging. This was a decision that took me awhile to make. After all, I’ve basically blogged in some form or another since 1999.

Why’d I stop? Sometimes the writing felt unfocused to me. I’ve heard since that some people found my posts helpful, which was nice to hear. Buts still, everything felt too lengthy and haphazard. Also, the trend in academic blogs these days is to, well, actually blog academic stuff.

Yet at heart, I’m still more of a personal blogger. I haven’t yet spent a lot of time blogging about the specifics of my dissertation project, but that may come one day. I also don’t have the time right now to blog specifically on history things with thorough analysis (but maybe I’m wrong).

I’d like this blog to help me shift that direction. I miss blogging. I like writing. I also feel strongly that blogs should be updated regularly. Sure, I use an RSS reader myself, but I appreciate regular content. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the bloggers who only post from time to time, but my personal ethic has always been to try to post regularly.

I’m back. My plan is to post twice a week (sometimes more), and I will continue to focus on the ins-and-outs of academic life. These days, that’s all about writing the dissertation. This fall, it’ll be about preparing for the job market and, I hope, my dissertation defense (although let’s face it, those are topics I’ll handle with care for a number of reasons because discretion is always the better part of valor).

I’d also like to blog about history and pop culture (hence The Pacific), and you’ll probably hear from me this summer a lot about this particular program I’ll discuss more later.

Eventually, I hope to make this a robust site with my CV, teaching portfolio, and perhaps other materials. At some point, I’ll probably acquire a domain name. For now, bear with me as I go slowly here.

As for who I am? I’m sure most of you here already know that – I doubt my audience extends much beyond personal friends and acquaintances.  If you haven’t met, hello! I’m a fifth-year Phd candidate at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. I’m writing a dissertation on women in the US military, and I’m a list editor for both H-Grad and H-Minerva (if you know H-Net).

And hey, if there’s anything about grad student life that interests you, please feel free to pop in with questions at any time. Otherwise, see you all soon.

-tanya

2 thoughts on “(Re)Introduction

Leave a Reply

