The Post-Dissertation Life

I’ve spent the past few weeks meaning to write and wanting to write, but just never getting around to it. In part, this is because I spent the last two full weeks on preparations for my summer course so that I could enjoy a little downtime this week and next.

I have plenty of things to say, and I’m sure I’ll get around to saying them sometime in the coming few months. For now, I’m simply thrilled to be past the dissertation defense. Next week is the graduation ceremony (or, as I prefer to think of it, my induction into the Super-Secret PhD Club).

More than anything, though, there’s something entirely refreshing about being done with graduate school. Will I miss it? Sure. I’ve gotten nostalgic about graduate school and my grad school friends and the institution more than once. Was it time for me to go? Absolutely. Finishing my dissertation and graduating in six years was the best thing I could have done for myself. (Aside from, perhaps, my new job, which I’ll discuss more soon.) In the coming days and weeks, you can expect more about….

1. My new job/career
2. My perspective on the academic job market
3. My thoughts on getting a PhD in the humanities
4. Reading for fun again!
5. …and many more things.

In the meantime, though, you probably have more important things to do. Come back soon.

Leave a Reply

